Bill introduced to posthumously award Congressional Gold Medal to 13 US service members killed in Kabul

National News

A bill introduced in the House would posthumously award a Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 U.S. service members killed in Afghanistan.

The medal is considered the highest expression of national appreciation for distinguished achievements and contributions.

The bill would award this medal to Maxton “Max” W. Soviak, Ryan C. Knauss, Darin T. Hoover Jr., Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Nicole L. Gee, Hunter Lopez, Daegan W. Page, Humberto A. Sanchez, David L. Espinoza, Jared M. Schmitz, Rylee J. McCollum, Dylan R. Merola and Kareem M. Nikoui.

In a press release, North Dakota Rep. Kelly Armstrong said he cosponsored the legislation, along with a bipartisan group of 226 other lawmakers.

The bill says the service members “exemplified extreme bravery and valor against armed enemy combatants” and that they “dedicated their lives and their heroism deserves great honor.”

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Political News

More Politics

Latest Local News

See More Local News

Latest State News

See More State News


More Don't Miss

KX News Trending Stories