Senate votes to reinstate net neutrality


The U.S. Senate this afternoon has voted to restore the net neutrality rules recently dropped by the Federal Communications Commission.

In a 52 to 47 vote, lawmakers said they wanted to keep in place rules that prevent Internet Service Providers, or ISPs, from blocking or slowing online access and speed.

All 49 Senate Democrats and three Republicans voted in favor of keeping net neutrality.

The effort nows moves to the House of Representatives, where it faces a tougher battle to pass.

Should net neutrality make it through the House, the legislation would then have to be signed by President Trump who, in the past, has been critical of the net neutrality rules.

North Dakota Senator Heidi Heitkamp voted to reinstate the net neutrality rules, while North Dakota Senator John Hoeven voted against reinstating the rules.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Stories

More Local News

Recent Videos

Class A and 9-man football

WDA Football

State cross country

Robert Suhr KX News At 6pm Forecast 10-24-20

Robert One Minute 10-24

Virtual confirmation

Election-centered executive order

District 6 Senate race

Donation to breast cancer

Coat Drive

DVCC fundraiser

Burleigh Co. homicide

COVID-19 ND Watch 10-24-20


charles hall closing

Legacy Volleyball

Bismarck Volleyball

Veterans Voices

Gov. Presser 10-23

Wild Calf

More Video

KX News Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss