Morton County Commission votes to ban fireworks in county limits due to drought conditions

Top Stories

One day after the Mandan City Commission banned fireworks in city limits, the Morton County Commission followed suit — but for county limits.

On Wednesday, the commission voted to ban fireworks in the county through July 5 due to drought conditions.

Rural fire chiefs advised the commission to ban fireworks due to abnormally dry conditions combined with high winds.

If Morton County receives significant rain that improves the drought conditions, the commission will reassess the ban at that time, according to Public Information Officer Maxine Herr.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Local Sports News

More Local Sports

Latest State News

See More State News

Latest National News

More National News


More Don't Miss

KX News Trending Stories