Trick-or-treating over the age of 12 in these Virginia towns could land you in jail

News
trick or treating_1539192153870.jpeg.jpg

CHESAPEAKE, VA (WCMH) — Several towns in eastern Virginia take their trick-or-treating very seriously. In fact, if you are over the age of 12, you could land in jail if you are out asking for candy on Halloween night. 

According to Chesapeake, Virginia’s city code, any person over the age of 12, who engages in trick or treat is, “guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.”

However, this isn’t isolated to just Chesapeake.

According to a 2017 article by HRScene.com, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, and other cities in the area have similar laws. 

So with Halloween around the corner, the question is: Just how old is too old for Trick-or-Treat?  

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Stories

More Local News

Recent Videos

NDC SEPT 24

TGU Football

Dickinson Football

Hidden History: a lesser-known political party once had a foothold in North Dakota

COVID-19 and Socializing

Williston Family Speaks Out

Election Dates

Switching to In Person

Century Girl's Golf

Wednesday, September 23rd, 2020 - KX Storm Team Evening Forecast - Dave Holder

KX Storm Team Full Evening Forecast w/Tom Schrader 9/23

Shelley Lenz

Cramer Weighs in

Changes proposed to critical habitat rule

ND Teacher of the Year

Nursing Homes Plea

Bismarck man opens up about the 'stigma' of pumpkin spice

Amber's Wednesday Morning #OneMinuteForecast 9/23

Wednesday's Forecast: A few showers & storms with cooler temperatures

NDC SEPT 23

More Video

KX News Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss